Entries are in order of most recent at top. So to see older entries for the month you are currently viewing, scroll down.
Previous/Next

May 27, 2005 - 5:10 pm

Argh, and woot

UDC is getting on my nerves. My 4 week psych class, we've had class twice, and both times the prof has shown up 15-20 minutes late, and dismissed class 45-60 minutes early. We only have class 11 times, and each class is supposed to be 3.5 hours. I mean, if a student misses too many classes, they can be failed for not putting in enough hours in class. I think, in fact, for a 4 week class, if you miss more than 1 class you can be failed, cos it's if you miss more than 5 hours. But if the prof wants to cut into the class time, well, that's just fine. And she's not even making the most of the in class time! We have 11 classes, there's 19 chapters in the book. We could pretty easily cover 1 or 1.5 chapters per 3.5 hour class, but instead we're 2 classes down and not even halfway through the first chapter!
And I mean, ok, it's a 4 week class, about 10 hours a week in class, so spending 2-3 hours studying for every hour in class would be a bit pressing, but, ya know what? It'd be doable. If someone isn't willing to put in 20-30 hours a week studying for 4 weeks, then don't take the class over the summer, take it during the fall or spring when it's only 3 hours a week in class and 6-9 hours a week studying.
But it seems like the general attitude at UDC is 'Don't make the students do too much outside of class.' Which, ya know, great, cos most of us work, but, at the same time, I'm taking the class to learn this stuff! Ok, ok, it's psych, I can just read the book, and I'll learn it just fine, but if that's all I'm getting from the class, why the hell am I paying for the class instead of just buying the book!
Oh, but, guess what? The English prof who proctored my final English exam (cos I didn't take it with the rest of my class, I took it at the alternate time) saw me today in the hall, and asked if I remembered her, and when I said I did, she said my essay had really been great. I thought that was really cool, cos she only interacted with me for like, 15 seconds when I gave her the exam and she asked if I was sure I was done because I was the first one to finish and was done in like an hour, so I totally dunno how she remembered me.

Mood= academic ego stroked
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

May 27, 2005 - 12:36 am

Serenity (spoiler free)

wow. is all I have to say. just wow. that was...gah!

Mood= sated fangirl
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

May 26, 2005 - 4:35 pm

SERENITY!

Did I mention I paid $220 for 4 tickets to the advance screening of serenity? AFBoi's buying one of them off me, random ebay dude bought another, and Aurora's gonna eventually pay me back for the third. So, yeah, I'm seeing serenity tonight at 10pm. I'm more or less entirely reduced to squeeing fangirl status at this point. It's gonna be so great.

Mood=
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

May 26, 2005 - 2:31 pm

*relieved sigh*

Alright! So switching from the one time of the math class to the other, I ended up ALL over campus. cos add/drop is over, but you can still withdraw. so when I went to the psych dep, the girl withdrew me from the one class, and put me in the other, but then it was charging me for a new 3 credit class, even tho you are supposed to be able to withdraw for a full refund through tomorrow, so the tuition for the dropped class should have covered the added class. so, she said go to the registrar's office. they said go to the dean's office. the dean's office said WTF, we don't deal with this, go to the cashier. the cashier said, nope, we don't deal with this, go to student accounts. student accounts said nope, not us, at which point I sorta broke down and BEGGED the woman to help me, and so she thought about it and said I needed to talk to the registrar himself. So she took me over, and he straightened it all out. but all that took like, 80 minutes, and I crossed the campus like 4 times. But it's done, I'm out of the mathnazi's class, and I'm mellow. I didn't get a chance to find out about the prof for the new time, which it turns out is not the prof who was listed in the catalog anyway. But I went down to the math dep and tried to get ahold of the guy, to see if I missed any homework, but the math dep had no contact info for him. So, I tried, and shall just explain the situation to him tomorrow morning.

Mood=
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

May 25, 2005 - 11:15 pm

Meme!

1. Reply with your name and I will write something about you.
2. I will then tell what reminds me of you.
3. If I were to apply an o'clock to you, it would be...
4. I will try to name a single word that best describes you.
5. I'll tell you the most memorable moment I've had with you.
6. I'll then tell you something that I've always wondered about you.
7. Put this in your journal.

Mood=
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

May 25, 2005 - 7:56 pm

ARGH!

My math prof is going to drive me completely fucking insane. he's doing a review, of things I know how to do, things I have known how to do since I was 10! But he doesn't just go, 'ok, if you know how to do this, great', no, he wants us to learn the order of operations, phrased and PUNCTUATED how he wants it!
I resent my time being wasted. I know the rules of the order of operations. I know how to add, subtract, multiple, and divide positive and negative numbers. Review them, great, but don't make a requirement of my passing the class my relearning things I already know, but phrased how you want them phrased.
Give me a bunch of problems to work. Hell, teach the class how to work them, but if I work them a little differently than you teach them, but get the right answer? DON'T FUCKING TELL ME I'M WRONG!
He made me redo an entire worksheet because I didn't label which rule of the order of operations I was using in each step! And then he made me sit back down and go back over it because I didn't put an equal sign between the rule label and the step when labeling the steps!
Oh, and it gets even better! So, he gives us the worksheet, and he says he's gonna work problems on the board, and then we'll work the rest, and then we can go. So, I start working them, cos I KNOW WHAT THE FUCK I'M DOING. He looks right at me, and goes 'Pencils down while I'm working on the board, you can't learn anything if you're looking down instead of looking at me.'
It's supposed to be a review! I'm supposed to already know how to do it! So let me fucking do it! And plus, when doing examples? I prefer to work them myself, and then see if I got the right answer, and then if I got the wrong answer, see where I went wrong, not watch the prof work the problem and then copy down how the prof worked it. I learn nothing doing it that way! My way, I find out if I know how to do it, and if I don't, then I can see where I fucked up
I'm half tempted to drop it altogether, but that means I can't take physics in the fall. But the other option for taking it this summer is a 10 am class, I thought it was an 8 am class until I looked it up just now. I can do a 10 am to not have to deal with him. Alrite, tomorrow I go up and see if I can still switch.
But first I'm going to go to the math department. There's this really cool woman prof, she taught a noon class before my math class this past spring, and she would still be in there when our class came in at 2 pm, tutoring her students. When I walked into the math class today, I saw her, and I was like 'YES!! Score!', because just from sitting in the same room while she was tutoring a couple times, it's obvious she's a really great prof. So, it turned out she was just there tutoring from her earlier class. So the half dozen of us in there asked her about this guy, and she made it pretty clear without actually saying as much that she didn't think too highly of him. So I'm going to go find her tomorrow and ask her what she thinks of the guy teaching the 10am, if he'd be better to take than this guy, see what she says. But I'd certainly rather go to bed 2 hours earlier over the next 8 weeks, than have to deal with this guy over the next 8 weeks.

Mood= Frustrated with lousy profs
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

May 22, 2005 - 3:56 pm

head go 'splodey

My mother and brother were planning to go up to the house in Western MD today, my brother to look for some of his stuff, my mother to get the one car towed down here so it can be fixed, and used. This needs to be done, because the undercarriage of her car is rusting out, and her car is going to die, but not for at least a few more months. I had come over to mom's Friday night to do laundry, deal with her finances, check that she's taking care of the animals, deal with the worst of the trash and stuff piling up, etc, all the things that I have to check up on because she can't be trusted with them and no one else in this family is willing to admit she can't be trusted with them.
So, last night at 9 pm, I was getting into the shower and had one more load of laundry to do after I got out of the shower. I asked Ann if she needed to call Marcus, she said no, he was going to call her, that was the plan. At 10:30, after I put the last load of laundry into the dryer, I asked Ann if she'd rather drive me home then, or drop me off on the way up to the house in the morning. She said drop me off on the way up in the morning.
I tried to go to bed around 2 am, couldn't get to sleep. Tried a couple more times, couldn't get to sleep. Around 4:30, I went upstairs to ask Ann if she'd given the dog his thyroid pill, and she asked if I wanted her to drive me home then. I said no, because I was tired, and my uncle would have been asleep when I got there, and I try to not be arriving when he's sleeping, because it's inevitably noisy carrying all my stuff in the house. I finally got to bed and sleep around 6.
So, my brother calls at noon, Ann doesn't wake up. The phone wakes me, but I don't get up for a bit, because I was expecting Ann to get up and let me know when we were leaving. Around 12:45, I get up, realize Ann never woke up, and wake her, and try and get ahold of Marcus to let him know she's awake, end up leaving him voice mail. At 1:45, he finally calls back, and he decides he doesn't want to drop me at home on the way up, it'll take too long. Never mind that if he would have just made something that even slightly resembled actual plans previously, I could have worked around those plans, but instead had to leave the planning up to Ann, which never turns out well. But him being delayed by about 45 minutes is absolutely out of the question, I'll just have to be completely inconvenienced for his sake.
So now Ann expects me to take metro home, since I have to go home cos I've got work tomorrow, and she'll bring me my clean laundry once the car that's being brought down from Western MD is fixed (which will probably be at least 2 weeks), because she is refusing to drive her car because 'it's about to break down'. Which is bullshit, it is not ABOUT to break down, it's going to die in a couple months at the least, probably longer. Even if waiting 2 weeks to get my clean laundry was acceptable, every single time she has EVER brought me my laundry, it ends up with dirt and grease and oil all over it. I don't know how she does it, but she does, every single time. So, her bringing me my clean laundry, doesn't work, because by the time I get it, it's not clean anymore.
Her next suggestion was that I take my laundry on metro with me. Which, a great idea, certainly, cos taking my clean laundry on metro couldn't possibly lead to it not being clean anymore, never mind the fact that it's 6 loads of laundry and I can't carry it all at once, so how the hell I'm supposed to carry it on metro I have no clue.
Oh, yeah, and during the course of discussing all this, Ann first says that when I asked if she'd rather take me home last night or today, I said I preferred today, and then she decides that the conversation at 10:30 last night wherein I asked if she'd rather take me home last night or today NEVER HAPPENED. Yeah, that's right, first she says that during the course of that convo I said I wanted to go home today, and then not 5 minutes later she says that convo never happened.
I'm pissed off at this point, and I tell her so, and point out exactly how bullshit her behavior is. So then she says, fine, she'll drive me home with my laundry, and then come back and she and my brother can leave, except that'll add about an hour and a half or two hours to the time before she and my brother leave. And on top of that, she's not even ready to go yet, and it's now an hour and a half since I woke her, 2:15 pm, and if she does drive me home at this point, she and my brother aren't going to get up to the house in western MD at all because my brother will decide when she gets back that it's too late to leave, which will mean my brother will take every chance he gets for pretty much the rest of time to throw it in my face how I fucked up his plans, and my mother will have yet another excuse to procrastinate getting the car from up there fixed, which she had already been doing for about 6 months. Which will mean that when her car actually does break down, we'll have no car at all. So, no, her driving me home today (instead of her and my brother dropping me off on their way) doesn't work at all.
So, obviously, you can see how this is entirely my fault, and I'm being ridiculous and unreasonable, and everyone around me is sane and logical and put upon. Never mind that if my mother and brother had just made anything that even vaguely resembled plans, ie: ok, we'll get going around noon, or if my mother had bothered to share with me the plans she claims were made, then I could have worked around those, never mind that my mother switched back and forth 3 times between 'I can't drive my car, it'll break down' and 'ok, I'll drive my car', and never mind that, worst of all, within the space of 5 minutes Ann first said that I had said something I never said (that I preferred to be dropped off today rather than driven home last night), and then claimed that the conversation in which she believed I said this never happened. No, but this is all my fault.

Mood= other than the raging headache, pretty calm actually
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

May 21, 2005 - 2:46 am

Justice?

So, I just found out that someone who is pretty important to me, has been raped, more than once. I'm feeling pretty homicidal. Seriously homicidal. I'll settle for giving her my pepper spray and buying her a knife, but....
I really want to go find every one of those assholes and impress upon them that you do not cross that line. Ever. No matter what. You kill yourself before you cross that line. And if you don't kill yourself, and do cross that line? You stop being human, and become vermin, that needs to be eliminated.
There's only one tiny voice in my head saying this is wrong. Because, justice failed her. The legal system failed her. So, how is it wrong to give her what justice should have, give her what she's owed? Someone, please, explain that to me, cos, I don't see how it is.

Mood= really cold
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

May 20, 2005 - 2:23 pm

*SQUEE*

*whimper* Serenity *whimper*
'I aim to misbehave.'
'It's worse than you know.' 'It usually is.'
'It's a fair bet the alliance knows what's coming.' 'no, they're not gonna see this coming.'
'Let's be bad guys.'
'No more running.'
'Define interesting.' 'oh god oh god we're all gonna die.'
'I'm not threatening you, I'm unarmed.' 'good. *bang*'
River kicking ass, not once, not twice, FOUR separate times!
Yes, I am entirely reduced to a squeeing fangirl. It needs to be September 30th now. Who's going to see it with me? For this, I'll camp out!
Joss Whedon is my master now
Just pray we don't feed ya to the reavers. River's deep dark secret!

Mood= squeeing fangirl
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

May 19, 2005 - 10:11 pm

My Day

so my day pretty well sucked. I was sick, so I stayed home from work, but had to go to school and register. So I did, figuring it'd take like, an hour or so. I go and put in for my classes, the guy doing it has no bloody clue how to use the computer, so he spends 15 minutes fucking around til he FINALLY asks someone else what to do. So, I'm registered, now I have to go pay.
They have a payment plan that is supposedly always available, and that I've done twice before, so I go to the office where I've gone to pay before, they ask what I want, I say to get on TMS (the payment plan) for the summer, they send me up to the student lounge in the building next door. I get up there, there's an insanely long line, but whatever. The line was down the hall, and they decide it should be out the doors, so they move us, but while they're moving us, another 10 ppl come up and get in line ahead of us!
So I wait, and wait, and wait, and finally get into the student lounge, only to be told that the payment plan isn't available for summer semester! So, I figure, ppl have made partial payments before, I know they have, I'll just see how much I have to pay today to not have the classes dropped. Cos if you register and don't pay, they drop your classes at the close of business. So I get up to the cashier, and am told it has to be paid in full! I was expecting to have to pay $725, and instead I have to pay $1800, which I SO have not got! So I ask if I get out of line and go call my mother to transfer me money, will I have to wait in the whole line again, and the girl says no,m just tell the security guard on the way out what I'm doing, and come back up to her when I get back.
So, I go to the computer lab in that building, it's closed. I end up having to go all the way across campus to find an open computer lab, which wasn't actually open, but the guys working in there let me use one of the comps for a minute to transfer the money. So then I walk back to the cashier, only the security guard isn't there, so I have to wait in line again, tho the line was now entirely in the lounge, and not out the door and down the hall. After I'd been there about 10 min, the security guard finally comes back, and walks me up to the front of the line, and I pay. And then I went and got groceries, and could NOT get a cab, 3 of them went past me, empty, and totally ignored me, so I walked home carrying a bunch of groceries with a raging headache and a throat that felt like it had razor blades in it.

Mood= a bit better now that I've slept
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

May 18, 2005 - 11:43 am

3.88 & sick

I've got a 3.88 cumulative, and a 3.75 for the semester. I'd have a 4.0 if I hadn't gotten a B in math. I'm pondering going and talking to the prof and pointing out that he never collected our notebooks (homework) and the syllabus says that our notebooks are worth 20% of our grade. It couldn't hurt.
I think I caught a cold in NY. Jen's bro was sick. And his GF made a comment about hoping Jen and I didn't catch it. And I said 'oh, I've already had the cold that's going around this season, tho I had the DC version, the NYC version might be diff.' and now my throat is sore and I keep sneezing. I really don't want to get sick, I'm supposed to hang out with Amsley this weekend, and go to 6 Flags with Jen Justin & Bri Sunday. Plus registration for summer classes is tomorrow. I really don't have time to get sick.

Mood= trying to will myself not to get sick
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

May 17, 2005 - 11:42 am

NYC & NIN

So, NYC and NIN.
Aurora spent Saturday night at my place (well, my mom's). Sunday morning, my mother was driving us to the bus station. First my mother decided she didn't want to follow the nice directions I'd printed up. Then she changed her mind and decided to follow the directions, after taking us 10 minutes out of the way! Then the car got a flat tire. My mother pulls the car over, with the flat tire facing traffic! So, I make her move the car, and we end up in some random person's driveway (with said random person's permission). I get out the lug wrench, try and remove the lug nuts, only to find that thanks to a combination of having been put on with an air wrench and having rusted, the damn things WOULD NOT BUDGE. I stepped on the lug wrench, STOOD on the lug wrench, and the lug nuts did not budge. The lug wrench BROKE, and the lug nuts did not loosen at all. At that point, I whipped out my cell and called a cab to take Aurora and I to the bus station, and then called AAA to change the tire for mom. We made it to the bus station, got on the bus, and got to NY. In less time that greyhound said it would take!
We took the subway from Port Authority to 34th St, at the suggestion of a cute guy working at Greyhound who said Manhattan blocks are long and we shouldn't walk the 8 blocks to the hotel. Which was such BS, we totally coulda just walked, but whatever, Aurora was all squeeful cos she'd never taken the NY subway before. I hadn't either, but I'm too bloody jaded to get squeeful over it. We got to the hotel, checked in, and found out that because all the double rooms with shared baths (the kind of room we'd reserved) were full, we'd been upgraded to a double room with a private bath! Which was pretty cool.
We got unpacked, and went out and got food, from a real NY deli. The sandwiches were good, tho nothing special, but the cheesecake sucked! NY cheesecake, in NY, and it wasn't anywhere near as good as like, 90% of the NY cheesecake I've had at home.
We went back to the hotel, ate, and I went up to shower. The shower was the detachable kind on a hose, and the hook for it was movable, could be slid up and down a bar. Only, when I tried to slide it down, it fell off the bottom of the bar, and I couldn't figure out how to make it go back on and stay! I broke the shower! *grin* I did eventually manage to rig it to stay, tho it doesn't slide anymore, but I care not.
NIN was good. Better than I expected actually, mostly cos of the seeing it with good company. Plus Trent did a number of my fav songs. Poor Aurora, she entirely failed to notice the guy next to us smoking, and so didn't ask him to share. She was pouty about that. But the concert was good. I SOOO shoulda taken my camera tho. Big stupid head me for not doing so.
We went back to the hotel after the concert, and ended up making a bunch of phone calls, well, Aurora did, and I made comments in the background and took pics of her. And then she wanted to even things up, so made me give her my camera and she took pics of me. A couple of them came out really nicely, I'll post later and link to them once I've got them up on my site.
NYC was...meh. $14 to go up to the top of the empire state building? Such a rip off. Aurora and I spent $6 each for an audio tour, only to discover we totally could have just gotten one and shared it. We did manage to meet up with Aurora's brother a bit later in the day, which made her happy, and he took us to Central Park, cos he was going anyway to take his dog for a run. That was cool, we wandered around Central Park, and I wish we had something like that here in DC, it's pretty cool. We got lost for a little while actually, not like horribly lost, just, 'hmm, how do we get back to where we parked' lost. Her bro dropped us at Port Authority, we'd missed our bus at 6 but there was another one at 7, so we caught that one, which actually turned out better, because that one stopped in Silver Spring before DC. And since my mom was picking us up, Silver Spring was a better option than downtown DC. 'Course, my mother being who she is, she didn't get there til like, an hour and 15 minutes after I'd called her to let her know we were almost there, and she managed to get lost on the way in, even tho she knew exactly how to get there, and it was simple, Colesville Rd to Fenton St.
But so yeah. That was the great trip. It was fun, but....meh. I dunno. I'm so fucking jaded anymore, nothing really excites me. What I wouldn't give for something really exciting or surprising.

Mood= deep in the depths of ennui
Voices in my head are singing= 'let's get to the point, let's roll another joint, let's head on down the road, to somewhere, I gotta go, an
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

May 14, 2005 - 12:35 pm

SQUEE

Had ScienceBoi over last night. Was fun, I went down on him, he went down on me, I played with his ass while I went down on him, he finger fucked me til I got off (soft one tho, but better than nothing), I sucked him til he got off, and then we cuddled and talked for a nice long while. Was pretty much exactly what I was in the mood for.
And this time tomorrow, I'm gonna be on a bus heading to NY for the NIN concert. I'm pretty squeeful.

Mood= did I not JUST say I'm squeeful?
Voices in my head are singing= Kinda I want to
Current Obsession= Trent Reznor
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

May 10, 2005 - 1:04 pm

Dream

I had an odd dream.
I was going to this party, a costume party. And I dressed as a pirate (and I distinctly remember thinking in the dream, 'do I have any pirate shows? well, I'll wear my boots.'). Then I was at the costume party, and sometime during the party, my costume changed, and I was dressed in a catholic school uniform, and was asking a guy I knew who was also dressed in a catholic school uniform if mine looked realistic. Then, somehow, the world had ended, and the guy and I were the only ones left, and everything (including us) was like a line sketch comic book, and we were in a cemetery.
And then I was with this group of people (and it wasn't line sketch anymore) and the world was covered with ice, and we were trying to get someplace. And there was a giant ice monster. And everyone else disappeared, and just the guy and I were left, and we thought we were at where we used to live, except we both knew we weren't and it was just our imagination. And the guy knew that somehow time was going faster than it should be, but he wasn't going to tell me about it.
And then I was with this girl, and it was just us in the world, except there were still taxicabs, automated I guess, and so we were going to take a taxi, and if we were going to split the cab, I was going to go near her, but then the dream went two ways, and I saw us splitting the cab and I went to someplace near her, and then we didn't split the cab and I never saw her again.
Then I was at my house in the middle of nowhere, and somehow could see the NY skyline from my window if the outside lights were turned on, but the Statue of Liberty was missing from the skyline, and I was telling someone (i forget who) how odd it seemed that it was missing, even tho it had been gone for a while, and so they just turned off the outside lights so I couldn't see that it was missing. And I closed the door, and locked it, and that's all of the dream I remember.
And now I have to go take my math and French finals. Wish me good luck!

Mood= barely conscious
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

May 08, 2005 - 3:14 pm

Quiz

Most of it seems pretty accurate. Only, marriage? not so much, no, thanks anyway.

The Keys to Your Heart

You are attracted to good manners and elegance.
In love, you feel the most alive when things are straight-forward, and you're told that you're loved.
You'd like to your lover to think you are stylish and alluring.
You would be forced to break up with someone who was ruthless, cold-blooded, and sarcastic.
Your ideal relationship is open. Both of you can talk about everything... no secrets.
Your risk of cheating is zero. You care about society and morality. You would never break a commitment.
You think of marriage something you've always wanted... though you haven't really thought about it.
In this moment, you think of love as something you can get or discard anytime. You're feeling self centered.

Mood=
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

May 05, 2005 - 11:57 am

Catch-up

So, I finally started the tech job at school this Monday. And I like it, for various reasons. For one, a task that the supervisor was expecting 4 of us to need a week to do, I figured out how 2 of us could get done in about 5 hours. So, that gave us all the entire rest of the week to essentially goof off, because they aren't ready to start training us til next week, and got me major points with the supervisor too. So, of the 20 hours I'm going to have worked this week, about 14 of them are going to have been spent IMing/studying for finals. I'm getting paid to sit here and write this! And even after we've been trained, I think it's going to be a pretty downtime intensive job. I'm quitting the survey thing. Yeah, this tech job at school pays less per hour, but it's more hours, and because it's so relaxed, I'm not inclined to bail at the slightest excuse like I do with the survey job. Plus, they're willing to have me work between classes. So, like, this summer, on MWF, I'm taking classes from 12-3:30, and then 5:30-8:30. And I'll be able to clock in from 3:30-5:30, and get paid for those two hours that I'd be spending sitting around at school anyway! And odds are, there will be nothing in particular to do most of the time, and so I'll be able to be online or studying. And I actually LIKE helping ppl get things working. So, yeah. I think I love this job. The supervisor says he wants all the student techs working here until they graduate, assuming long as the grant money holds out. I've definitely got the job through the end of September. If the grant money is gone then, well, I'll find something else, I always do.
In other news, ScienceBoi and I went to dinner and a movie Tuesday, and it was quite fun. We had nice convo during dinner, and I put his arm around me during the movie, which, me being me, of course progressed to making out during the movie. Which led to going to the park down the block after the movie let out, and making out lying on the grass. It was fun, I was definitely enjoying myself. I dropped my cell phone tho, well, didn't actually drop it. Got it out to check the time, cos he had to catch the last metro train or wouldn't get home, and when I put it back in my bag, I missed the pocket and didn't realize it. Didn't realize it until we had left, and I was a block and a half away, and ScienceBoi was well on his way to metro. And I didn't want to chase after him and get him to use his cell to call my cell, cos the delay would probably have made him miss his train. So I went back and tried to look for it in the dark, which of course didn't work out too well. I gave up, walked home, got a flashlight and my uncle's cell, and my paycheck which I had yet to deposit in the ATM, and headed back to the park. Found my cell in about 15 seconds once I had my uncle's cell to call it from so my cell would light up. Then I went to the ATM, cos I was halfway there already, deposited my paycheck, and then walked home, stopping at my fav playground to swing for a bit.

Mood= Gleeful
Voices in my head are singing= 'We don't need no education' thanks to that omnipresent banner ad
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

May 02, 2005 - 6:53 pm

uh huh

Ya know, people draw the wrong conclusions from things, and I don't bother to disabuse them of their misunderstanding, cos it wasn't something that they were meant to be involved in to begin with. And they they just turn around and further impress upon me that the actual conclusion, the one that they missed, is in fact correct. So, yeah. *nods*

Mood=
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

May 02, 2005 - 5:20 pm

Took it again, slightly different percentages, 'bout the same results.

Bored, so I took this again.
You scored as Hedonism. Your life is guided by the principles of Hedonism: You believe that pleasure is a great, or the greatest, good; and you try to enjoy life�s pleasures as much as you can.

�Eat, drink, and be merry, for tomorrow we die!�

More info at Arocoun's Wikipedia User Page...

Hedonism

100%

Existentialism

95%

Strong Egoism

90%

Justice (Fairness)

80%

Nihilism

60%

Utilitarianism

45%

Apathy

35%

Kantianism

25%

Divine Command

0%

What philosophy do you follow? (v1.03)
created with QuizFarm.comMood= bored
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

May 02, 2005 - 6:50 am

6:30 is an unholy hour of the morning

I didn't have to wake up til 7:45. I didn't get to sleep til after 12:30, even with the OTC sleeping pills. But at 6:30, my body decided it was time for me to wake up. I've got the orientation for the tech job for the school bulliten board/virtual classroom at 8:30 this morning, and then I've got to work a makeup shift at the survey place tonight, til 9:45. *sigh* Why do I have a suspicion this day is going to suck? Well, maybe I'll be lucky and orientation won't last long and I can come home and nap before work tonight.

Mood=
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

May 01, 2005 - 2:49 pm

ZOMBIES!

Interesting dream I had last night. I was at the house in western MD, and there were zombies. And I shot this one zombie in the head, which apparently in that reality kills zombies cos he fell down and stayed down. And the zombies were gonna disappear at dawn, dunno how I knew that, but I did. And a little while before dawn, they broke down the door, and got into the house. And I pulled the propane hose off the stove and used it like a flamethrower. Yes, I know, in reality that wouldn't work cos propane's a gas, but it worked in the dream. And there there was taunting from the leader of the zombies, and then it was dawn and they went away. It was odd, but fun. And there there was a whole thing with fruit growing in really weird places, like a couple different kinds of fruit growing on a tree that's dead in reality, and looked pretty dead in the dream. *shakes head* Yeah, I dunno what's up with my subconscious. It was pretty much a neat dream tho.
And in other news, my mood is much better than it was, and I've decided I was making too big a deal out of things. But, things do exist, and I'm gonna just wait and see what happens, and not so much make any effort on my part to make things happen.

Mood= barely conscious
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.









Newest Entry
Archive
My Profile
Pictures of Me
E-Mail Me
Txt Msg my cell
People who have me as a Favorite
My Amazon Wishlist

Leave Me A Note:
(You have to be signed into diaryland.)
Join my Notify List and get email when I update my Diary:
your email-
Powered by NotifyList.com

Click here to sign my new (cos the site the old one was on is borked) guestbook!