Entries are in order of most recent at top. So to see older entries for the month you are currently viewing, scroll down.
Previous/Next

January 29, 2004 - 10:38 pm

Stuff

PURPLE gel keyboard wrist rest and mouse pad! Amusingly enough, delivered at 10pm by fedex. Did you know fedex delivers at 10pm? In a rent-a-truck? because I didn't. *grin* My best guess, the regular truck broke down, they had no replacements available, and so they threw all the packages on a rent a truck and delivered them that way. Which would explain them delivering so late at night.

Mood= amused
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

January 23, 2004 - 11:28 am

Summer Session, and College credits

UDC has a summer term, and they have 2 four week sessions, 6 credits per session, or one 8 week session, 9 credits in the session. If I could do both 4 week sessions, that would give me 12 credits, which is a whole semester's worth! Cos, 12 credits per semester is basic, and you have to have 30 credits per year/grade. Like, freshman is anything under 30, and sophomore is 30-60, and so on. So, if u only do 2 semesters, fall and spring, u have to take 15 and 15, or 12 and 18. But I don't know if u are allowed to do both 4 week 6 credit summer sessions, you might only be allowed to do the 8 week 9 credit session. But if I did summer semester, even if I just did one 4 week session, I'd have 6 credits, and then could just do 12 credits for fall semester and 12 for spring, and that'd be 30. If I did 9 credits over the summer, I still have to do 12 per semester to be a full time student instead of a part time student, but then I end the year with 33 credits, instead of just 30, so I'd be 3 credits into sophomore year. And if I was able to do both 4 week sessions this summer, I'd have 12 credits this summer, and 12 for fall and spring, so I'd end next year with 36 credits, which is 6 into sophomore year, AND, I would probably only have to take 4 classes per semester! (cos a class is usually 3 credits)

Mood= upbeat
Voices in my head are singing= String Section-Something I Can Never Have (winamp)
Current Obsession= credits
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

January 23, 2004 - 10:18 am

*shock*

St. Albans summer camp has totally changed their operation. They aren't going to have a day camp anymore, with different activities. It's going to be half days of half a dozen different themes. And none of them sound particularly like something I could do well. So, I guess I'm doing other things this summer. Maybe some college classes! Tho where I'll find the money for that, I have no idea.

Mood= shocked, sad, planning
Voices in my head are singing= String Section-Eraser (winamp)
Current Obsession= what I'm going to do this summer
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

January 22, 2004 - 11:35 am

Dream, and reality

oh, man. The dream I had. I was at the house up country, It was late in the day, early evening, and summer I think, or at least good weather in spring or fall. I looked out the window and saw a guy in a pickup truck, and a bunch of people around the pickup truck, like they were going to attack him or something. So I went to see what was going on, and it turned out the people about to attack the guy were vampires. There was this whole big stand off, I kept stabbing this one vampire, but it didn't do any good, because the knives I was using were just kitchen knives. So the vampires are going to kill me and the guy in the truck, and one of them starts taunting us, I forget exactly what was said. And of course I get smart mouthed back, and we end up talking, sort of. And I convince a couple of the other vampires that it would be more fun for them to not kill us right away, because then they get to spend more time, and so don't get bored, or something like that. (It was a DREAM. I'm a lil fuzzy on the details.) And there was a bit, they are walking away, and I was walking with them, like when you walk people who are leaving your house out to their car, and one of them says something to me like 'Do you know what you've gotten yourself into?' and I replied something like 'Yeah, but at least I bought us some time. And hell, it should be interesting.' The vamp said 'Most humans don't think of being hunted to death as interesting.' I said 'Yeah, but I understand the game of it all.' (or something like that) and walked back toward the guy who had been in the truck.
Then it was later, a little bit before sunrise, and one of the vampires (not the one I was talking to) came to the house, one the guy was friends with, and we went outside on the front porch, and were talking, and the guy was trying to convince that vampire to help us. And there ended up being this whole makeout session, with me and the guy and the vampire. And I totally can't remember whether any of the vampires were guys or girls.
But it was a good, interesting dream, that got interrupted by my alarm. I was supposed to go to the Tully's because they got a new printer, but I decided I just didn't feel up to it, because I've got a headache, so I called Mrs. Tully and told her I didn't feel well, and needed to reschedule. I had gotten an email from the monitor company, saying to just bring the monitor in and they would exchange it, so I called them, to get their hours, and will probably end up having mom drive me up there tomorrow. I think I'm going to go back to bed now.

Mood= sleepy and headachy
Voices in my head are singing= they are just yawning
Current Obsession= vamps
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

January 21, 2004 - 5:27 pm

toys followup

So, got the desk, but no chair, cos they didn't have the purple one. Set up the desk sunday night, and the shelves monday night. I still have to move mom's desk/dresser out, and move the desk back into the corner and the shelves over, but my room is a LOT more organized now.
My snazzy new monitor is having issues today. The color all along one side is way off. I think it might be a heat issue, so I moved the monitor so the front of it isn't under the shelf, and am going to wait and see if that fixes it. I think I'll also turn it off for a while, so it can cool down. I just wanna find out what the problem is, tho it does have 2 year parts and labor warrenty, so if I have to get it fixed, it's no big deal.

Mood= diagnostic
Voices in my head are singing= Alanis Morrisette-The 12th track off jagged little pill (winamp)
Current Obsession= finding out what is wrong with my monitor
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

January 17, 2004 - 6:42 pm

Toys!

A new 19 inch flat screen monitor. Not an LCD, a flatscreen CRT.
A VERY nice TV tuner/PVR (personal video recording) card, that lets you watch TV, record TV, and listen to the radio. And you can use it to pause and rewind live TV, or you can program it to record at a certain time, like a VCR. And, it can be set so that if the computer is off when it's time to record, the card or software will turn the computer on! And it has a remote control.
A new soundcard, nothing great, a c-media 5.1, and 2.1 speakers. That's two speakers and a woofer.
A D-link router, and 100 feet of Cat5e cable, and a coupler, in case I need to add my 25 feet of cable to the 100.
A purple cold cathode light, which can be mounted inside or outside the computer, and is voice activated.
A new black and two new color ink cartridges for the printer, and a black and color cartridge for the printer I'm going to set up for my uncle.
And, Ricky paid for all of it, plus I have some money left over from what he gave me, like $30. And we're going to go to Staples in a little while, and get the desk I like, which when I called, they said they had in stock. And I'm going to look and see if they still have that purple chair, and if they do, I'm going to get that, tho I might have to pay for the chair. But Ricky is paying for the desk.

Mood= geektacular
Voices in my head are singing= the happy geek song ;)
Current Obsession= TOYS!
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

January 16, 2004 - 11:26 pm

-

Goddess I hate him. I wish he'd fucking die already. Hell, I wish he would have died years ago.
We were supposed to go to the computer show tomorrow, and get a couple things, and I was going to look at desks. We had gotten me shelves today, which take up a lot of space in the very small car. We were going to drop the shelves off at the house in DC before we went to the computer show. Paul needs Mom to come over and do stuff, so I figured we could just put half the backseat in the car up, and then three ppl can fit in the car, and the shelves should still be ok. And then when we stop at DC to unload the shelves, Mom can just stay, and Ricky and I can go to the computer show while Mom gets stuff done. So, I ask Ricky if that will work, and he has a fucking temper tantrum. I wish he'd fucking die already.

Mood= pissed
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

January 14, 2004 - 6:33 pm

-

Said by someone on BroadbandReports.com, in the Executive lounge forum.

Quite frankly I wish I had religion in my life. I wish I could believe in a sympathetic omnipotent being. Life would be immeasurably easier having answers, having comfort. Knowing dead family was waiting in a perfect world for my passing. Knowing life continued, that this wasn't all some pointless and bizarre flash of chaos with only fleeting moments of beauty. I'd sleep like a baby and I'd grin like a morphine addict. Unfortunately I can't. So in a way, even though in my opinion a religious man is living under a shroud of delusion, you come to realize that he's probably better off, and you slowly begin to respect, though not believe in, his choices. Provided they stay out of my yard.

Mood=
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

January 12, 2004 - 6:19 pm

Money and plans

So my father gave me $100 for my bills this month. Which is cool. And I should make at least $50 on Wednesday. Maybe even $75. I decided instead of spending $70 on a desk, I'm gonna buy the plans and materials for that loft bed, and build it, with a computer desk underneath. The plans are $10, and the fasteners and screws are like $30. Dunno how much the lumber would be, but according to the website that sells the plans, it should run between $40-$70. Granted, that means I have to make do computerspace wise til then, but that's ok.

Mood=
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

January 09, 2004 - 8:16 pm

The cost of True Happiness

The cost of True happiness for me? $3500
ATI all in wonder video card-$500, 19 inch Dell or Planar LCD-$700, AMD XP 3200 Processor-$300, new motherboard-$100, new CD burner-$75, plextor px-708a DVD burner-$250, new case with window-$100, RAM-$500, sound card-$100, speakers-$200, purple keyboard and mouse-$75, new wireless networking hardware-$150, photo printer-$250, lights and paint for comp case-$100, power supply $100.
Actually, make that an even 4 grand. Cos I'm sure there's $500 worth of stuff I'm forgetting. Like a 512MB SD card for my cam-$100.

Mood= dreaming
Voices in my head are singing= Leonard Cohen-Hallelujah (winamp/voices duet)
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

January 09, 2004 - 2:22 pm

OMG

So, the school thing. I had called last year, and was told I had to make up the credits I was supposed to have had from Flintstone. I spent a bunch of time trying to get Flintstone to give me the credits I did, but they had lost the records, and so wouldn't. So I had to make up those credits from the correspondence school. So, I called, got it all set up. I THOUGHT.
Called today, about something totally unrelated, and found out there was a major mix up, and I had more credits than I was supposed to. So, now I have to send them back some of the books they already sent me, and find an old book, and do something they told me I didn't need to do, and send them some money. And If I don't send them back the books, then I have to send them more money for those. And I have to send them money for the extra classes, which actually is ok, cos when I signed up for the extra classes to begin with, they didn't bill me, so I was kind of expecting them to bill me all this time
I have to do their algebra, which is horrible and just sucks, not because it's algebra, but because their book sucks, I have to do their geometry, which is alright, and I have to do a half credit of US history. I have to send them back physics, which I was kinda liked, but don't mind not doing anymore, and art drawing animals, which I'm glad to see gone. Isn't this fun. But the one good thing is, that because I am so close to being done, even if I don't get all 17 of the tests I have to do done by February 26th, which is the end of my enrollment date, it'll be ok. Cos if you each the end of your enrollment date, but have 15 or less tests still to do, they don't charge you extra, and they let you finish. So that's my goal, 17 tests in the next 6 weeks. (actually, the next 6 weeks and 6 days.) That is doable! Easy even! Cos the US history is total cake and pie. And the geometry isn't bad either.

Mood= sorta annoyed, sorta glad
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

January 05, 2004 - 7:09 pm

this is why, and always has been

I want to hit myself in the head with a glass bottle until I pass out. I already had a fucking headache, and now I want to put a bullet through the back of my skull, cos it's the only way my head's going to stop hurting. Before my mother called, I was just tired, with a lil bit of a headache cos of being tired and having been reading on the computer all day without my glasses, but nothing worth paying attention to. Now, I want to bounce my mother's head off a fucking wall until she gets some sense knocked into her, and then I want to slit my father's throat, cos I'm pretty damn sure if he'd never thrown me into a fucking wall, I wouldn't be the kind of person who see bouncing someone's head off a wall as a possible (albeit undesirable purely for social reasons) solution. I hate that I'm that kind of person. And now I want to kill myself, because what I really want to do is kill my parents. But that's not ok, I can't want that, wanting that makes me a sociopath, so I want to kill myself. I hate that that is what my life has made me. I hate that this is who I am, and who I ever shall be, no matter how fucking much I work at not being the sum and product of my distant self absorbed parents and my heinous and traumatically short childhood.

Mood= guns, knives, razors, pills
Voices in my head are singing= Ringfinger
Current Obsession= "The thought of suicide is a great consolation: by means of it one gets successfully through many a bad night."-Nietzsche
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

January 05, 2004 - 4:52 pm

sleep

I forget exactly when on Friday I woke up, but I believe it was around noon. Maybe 2. Then I was awake until 11 am saturday, when I slept for 4 hours, til 3 pm. I then went out with Emily and Mike, which was fun, I'll try and remember to write more later. I then came home, and didn't get to sleep until 2 am Sunday. I slept for 14 hours, til 4 pm Sunday, and have been awake ever since, roughly 25 hours. And I'm going to my parent's tonight. The original plan, concieved at 9 am, after that nice walk I had, was that I would go to my parent's house, get the old computer and a spare monitor, and come home. I was doing this cos my comp is just dying, and it'd be stupid to reformat my hard drive and reinstall windows, and set it up for 2 users, only to have to set up the second comp in a few weeks or a month. So I'm doing the second comp now, except I just realized that I don't have a router and 125 feet of Cat5e cable yet! I don't even think my old modem will work, but I'm going to check. Pretty sure it won't tho. But so yeah. Now that I haven't slept, I'm SOOO not going to my parents and coming right home. I'm going to my parent's, taking a shower, and going to bed, and coming home tomorrow, or wednesday.

Mood=
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

January 05, 2004 - 12:37 pm

repeat as needed

I wouldn't trade who I am for anything, but.......I'd give everything to know who I could have been.
I think I've said that before. In fact, I'm almost certain I have. But it stands repeating, as I often think it, and end up saying it often enough. Like the other day, when discussing with Delle the effect her staying married to their daddy will have on her children, based on how my mother staying married to my father effected me.

Mood= up all night, feel like I should sleep, but am not really tired or sleepy.
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

January 05, 2004 - 7:54 am

'Nother New Year's Res

Just decided upon today. To walk every 2-3 days, instead of every 5-7 like I have been. And to walk instead of taking the bus more. A pre/post-dawn walk is a very nice and invigorating thing. And, hey, my head ache did go away. Granted, I got a nice leg cramp to replace it, but that's alrite.

Mood= proud of myself
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

January 05, 2004 - 1:21 am

HA!

I had Nine Inch Nails-Ringfinger playing in my head. So, I right clicked my entire NIN mp3 folder, which has like 15 albums in it, and clicked play in winamp. Guess what song it started with, out of 139 options? RINGFINGER! How weird and amusing is that?

Mood= amused
Voices in my head are singing= NIN-Ringfinger (the voices, and winamp)
Current Obsession= getting my MP3s back
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

January 02, 2004 - 8:50 pm

Done.

I finally sent him a text message on his cell, saying to call me, or to check his email, cos I still hadn't heard from him. And so he IMed me, and we talked, and he's gonna send me a check after he gets back to school monday and puts some xmas checks he got in his bank account. So, all is well, essentially. I'm off to work on a New Year's Res I made, to get those stupid credits made up.

Mood= kinda flat
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession= my future
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.









Newest Entry
Archive
My Profile
Pictures of Me
E-Mail Me
Txt Msg my cell
People who have me as a Favorite
My Amazon Wishlist

Leave Me A Note:
(You have to be signed into diaryland.)
Join my Notify List and get email when I update my Diary:
your email-
Powered by NotifyList.com

Click here to sign my new (cos the site the old one was on is borked) guestbook!