Entries are in order of most recent at top. So to see older entries for the month you are currently viewing, scroll down.
Previous/Next

August 26, 2004 - 11:36 pm

YAYfor the college girl (ME!)

Short Version-(there'll be a longer version soon, I swear! My browser ate my entry last time, or there would have been one last week!) I'm in college! French, Psychology, Sociology, Algebra, and Freshman Orientation. I don't like the guy teaching french, but he's just subbing til next week. I don't like him cos he was 10 min late for the first day of class, and so kept us after class was supposed to get out, and made everyone late for their next class. I was only going 4 doors down the hall, and I was late! I pity the ppl who had to go across campus. Sociology is good, prof's nice, tho a bit soft spoken. Algebra shouldn't be too bad, the teacher seems to be good at teaching, and also said he isn't terribly concerned with attendance so long as u learn. Psychology, another nice prof. Orientation, is going to suck tho. To pass, you have to attend various school events, and do community serivce. I don't like being forced to participate in things I'm not interested in, and I HATE forced volunteerism. It turns something that should be done for community reasons into a chore to be gotten over with. And the prof's a name dropper! 'O, I worked here, I worked there, I know this person, I went to school with that person.' STFU and teach! Tho I guess with teaching freshman orientation, he hasn't got a lot to teach, since the description is time management and studying/test taking skills.
Had the interview for the phone surveys job tonight. Will know tomorrow if I get it. I hope I do, as it will pay at least $7.50, probably $7.75, depending on which shifts I work, (u get bonuses depending on which shifts you work) and could be up to $8.75-9 with very little trouble. Plus, no transportation (metro) expenses, cos it's directly across the street from school, so, 3/4 mile from home. Anyway, that's all for now, I've got french at 10 am, I need to get some sleep. Night all!
oo, almost forgot to mention! Paid off my credit card, and bought my laptop. Laptop specs-Compaq Presario R3000Z, XP Pro, AMD Athlon 64 3400+ 2.20 GHz, 15.4" WXGA (1280x800), 64MB NVIDIA GeForce 4 440 Go +1394 & 5-in-1 media reader, 1.0GB DDR (2x512MB), 60GB 4200, 4X DVD+RW, 54g Broadcom 802.11b/g, Works/Money, 12 Cell Lithium Ion Battery for $1653, plus $299.99 for a 3 year accidental damage protection plan.

Mood= something that might actually be happy
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

August 10, 2004 - 9:27 pm

Not fired?

So I ended up at Zak's Saturday night (ok, actually Sunday morning, cos it was after midnight) because I was pissed off and upset over the whole work, Janey being an asshole thing, and needed to blow off some steam and be cuddled. And Zak was quite good at helping me with both those things. *grin* So, I slept over at Zak's, and at about 1 pm, Janey called, and tried to play it off as though the reason he had told me not to bother coming in on Sunday was because the dough delivery hadn't come in, so he knew the store was going to run out of dough and have to close early. Which is bullshit, but whatever. I don't know if Agung wouldn't let him fire me, or if he wants to find a replacement before he fires me. I don't much care either way tho. $6.75 an hour is not worth being treated like I exist to make Janey's life easier, being constantly told conflicting things, being screamed at for doing perfectly reasonable things to make customers happy, being grilled about my personal life and hassled when I choose to keep my private life private, being insulted about things that have no bearing on my work and are none of anyone's business. It's not fucking worth it. So I've got a number of listings from the city paper classifieds I'm going to call, and if it turns out Janey is just waiting to hire a replacement before he fires me, well, won't he be surprised when I quit. Hmm, would it be better to quit or wait to be fired? I think it would be better to quit, because then I can say 'I left because of this, this and this', instead of saying 'I was fired, but here's my side of the story'.
And a friend of Justin's (old Justin, not google Justin) left a comment in my notes that leads me to either be VERY sorry for anyone who works under her, or to think she just made assumptions based on her experiences without really understanding my situation. I left a (fairly) polite reply in her notes (Yes, it was the second version. The first version was less polite, but then the reasonable voices in my head poked me and said hey, rewrite that.)

Mood= sort of blah.
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

August 07, 2004 - 10:51 pm

Think I'm fired

So, I think I just got fired, over the schedule thing, which I forget if I wrote here about or not. So, the history is, on Saturdays, I was scheduled to start at 5, but cos of the subway schedule, usually got there at like 4:45 or 4:50. So I would put that down on my time card and start work. And like, 2 or 3 weeks ago, Janey decided that was a problem, I couldn't do that, and said something along the lines of 'when you're scheduled to work is when you work', never mind that more often than not, I ended up staying late on Saturdays, and sometimes Sundays, cos it would be busy. So, I decided then that if he had a problem with my being 10 or 15 minutes early, I had a problem with working late with no notice on a regular basis. So, I started leaving at exactly 9, when I was scheduled to, which wasn't a problem until today. Today, I went to leave at 9, and Janey goes, 'who said you could leave?' and we got into it. More background info-on Fridays, I'm scheduled to start at 11, when we open. Except, no one is ever there at 11 except me, so, we usually end up opening at like 11:15 or 11:30. Except, I put 11 on my card, cos, I showed up when I was supposed to. Not my problem if Janey can't do the same. So he brought that up, and I told him pretty much what I just said here, that him not being able to show up on time is not my problem, and informed him that if he wanted me to work later than 9, he needed to schedule me later than 9. So he goes 'how am I supposed to know if it's going to be busy or not?' to which I also said 'not my problem' and he told me not to bother coming into work tomorrow, and that he�d get let me know about whatever, and I should go cos he had a customer on the phone. I told him he was the one who started the issue about the schedule, and I left. He didn't come right out and say I'm fired, but, that's my guess. But I'm pretty sure if he does fire me over this, over my refusing to work more than my scheduled hours after having been bitched at for working more than my scheduled hours, that I've got grounds to sue, and I'm enough of a bitch that I will too.

Mood= Pissed and upset
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

August 05, 2004 - 3:28 am

*whine*

I have now officially blown my nose so much I'm getting blood in the kleenex. I HATE being sick!!!!

Mood=
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.









Newest Entry
Archive
My Profile
Pictures of Me
E-Mail Me
Txt Msg my cell
People who have me as a Favorite
My Amazon Wishlist

Leave Me A Note:
(You have to be signed into diaryland.)
Join my Notify List and get email when I update my Diary:
your email-
Powered by NotifyList.com

Click here to sign my new (cos the site the old one was on is borked) guestbook!