Entries are in order of most recent at top. So to see older entries for the month you are currently viewing, scroll down.
Previous/Next

4/13/01 - 12:06 a.m.

Interview

Well, I went and talked to the director of the summer camp I want to work at this summer. He said he had some concerns about me working there, cos apparently he got complaints last year. Last summer he had told me that some parents had come to him with concerns, but the impression I got was that he felt the parents were seeing things differently then the kids had, where the kids had liked something, the parent was thinking it was something that wasn't good, didn't fit the activity description or whatever.
When I went in Tuesday and talked to him, he said it was not like that at all, and he also said he had gotten complaints from campers too. I found that very odd, cos the only complaints I ever got from campers were of the, "We did that last session, it's stupid, I don't wanna do it again", or the, "I don wanna" (in that whiny tone that all kids truly believe works on any 'grownup') variety. So I told him that, and he said he thought maybe the kids had been scared to come to me with it.
I was very proud of myself, I didn't get upset, I simply said that surprised me, snce I had been under the impression that the kids considered me friendly. I was certainly nice enough, I let them get away with just about anything short of murder, let them goof off, go down to the snack bar when they were not supposed to, all that. But I didn't tell him that. I was very calm, and did my best to act mature. And I guess I did ok, cos he told me he was willing to hire me back, on the condition that I work with another counselor, who he is going to place an ad to find, as he can't find anyone. I didn't say, 'No wonder you can't find anyone, you have turned this camp from the fun thing it was when Adria and Trace were here, to something almost closer to a boot camp with arts & crafts.' But I didn't.
So, he said he will be sending me the contract in a few days, and I worked up a very detailed lesson plan for the summer, and emailed it to him. The past 2 years, he has not been able to find 2 counselors to teach Magic or Clowning, both years he has had to have just one teacher for each. Only, I have taught Magic the past 2 years, and the people who taught Clowning the past 2 years, neither of them is going to come back, as far as I know. The guy who taught it last year might be back, but I think last year he told a friend of mine that he was not coming back. Just as well, cos if I had to work with him, I just might turn the job down. He and I did not get along.
So, when I said I didn't think I was going to be hired, I was wrong. As I hoped I might be. But, I was right about there being something wrong. So, now, all there is to do is wait and see what happens. I am wondering, if the director can't find anyone else to teach the class, is he just going to let me do it myself, or is he going to just drop that class, and me, or what? Time will tell, I guess. I wouldn't mind a fast forward button for life right about now, cos I don't want to wait to see what happens.

Mood=
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.









Newest Entry
Archive
My Profile
Pictures of Me
E-Mail Me
Txt Msg my cell
People who have me as a Favorite
My Amazon Wishlist

Leave Me A Note:
(You have to be signed into diaryland.)
Join my Notify List and get email when I update my Diary:
your email-
Powered by NotifyList.com

Click here to sign my new (cos the site the old one was on is borked) guestbook!