Entries are in order of most recent at top. So to see older entries for the month you are currently viewing, scroll down.
Previous/Next

January 15, 2002 - 11:57 pm

Holidays

Well. I was feeling all horrible about never writing in my diary, but then I read a great quote. �It's the good girls who keep diaries; the bad girls never have the time.�- Tallulah Bankhead. Isn't that fabulous? I have no clue who that person is, (feel free to email me and let me know who this person is if you have a clue :) It's certainly a good excuse for not writing. Sadly it's not true, but o well.

So, What I did for the holidays. Well, I actually went to my parent's house, totally voluntarily. I didn't even really have much laundry to do, so, you know what a awe inspiring thing that is. But it worked out well, because my father too me to Staples (office supply store, haven for computer geeks). I thought we were just going because we were short on CDRs. When we got there, we got 50 CDRs, and 25 CDRWs, so I'm set on those for the time being. And when I thought we were done, my father asked if I had seen the Windows XP software, as he couldn't find it. I thought they had a display, but it turned out we had to ask one of the clerks. I thought my father just wanted to look at it, see what fabulous stuff it came with. Back when XP came out, the mom of a friend of mine had asked me about it, if I thought she should get it, and I had told her, yeah, go for it, but wait until it has been out for 6 months or so, so that all the bugs and glitches can be found and worked out. And I had told my father she had asked, and he had agreed with me on the wait 6 months bit. He had said he would buy me XP eventually, but I was figureing it would be Summer 2002 or thereabouts. But when the guy at Staples asked if we were getting it, my father said yeah. I was all, "WHAT?!?!?!", remembering what he had said about waiting to get it for me, and he said "I thought I'd get it for you for Christmas." So I was THRILLED.

I couldn't install it at my parent's, because their computer is too old, it comes nowhere near meeting the requirements for XP, it'd crash if I so much as tried to install it, forget about actually RUNNING it. But I installed it on my computer when I got home, and I LOVE it. It hasn't frozen once, or crashed, although it did have an odd error the other day, I had been running it too long without rebooting and was running too many things, and the display sort of locked up. The program menu froze when I opened it, but everything behind it was working, there was just the menu in front of all of it, so I just rebooted. It was the first time I had HAD to reboot since I installed it. Considering I was having to reboot 2 or 3 times (at least) per day when I was using the same system with Windows ME on it, I think that is utterly FABULOUS. Plus, Windows XP has WAY better memory management then ME did. I have 320 M, but on ME I was constantly getting low resourses messages. Not a one in XP.

So, on XMas eve I had put all the early XMas I had gotten on a little table in my room, with a printout of a christmas tree I had colored in taped to the wall over it. When I woke up Christmas morning, there was a little box on the table. I opened it up, and it was diamond earring set in gold. How cool is that?

Christmas day, my mom and I went to my uncle's, and the 3 of us got some chinese foodfor lunch. Then we went up to my Mom's friend Deane's son Sean Micheal's house. Marcus (my brother) and Richard (his fiance) came up too, after going to Marcus's fathers. (He's my half bro, same mom, different dads. The fun of divorce.) It was nice to see Deane again, cos she's sorta like a second mom to me. Better then my real mom currently, with all the issues my mom is having. And Sean has cable internet, and let me try and download some stuff I wanted. Only, no one was online I could download it off of. O well. So, I had a fairly nice Christmas. Way better then last year, or the year before.

Then for New Year's, I didn't do anything. At Midnight, I was curled up in a nice comfy chair with a kitty cat next to me, doing biology homework. I had some Hot Chocolate, I forget if it was at midnight or after. Then around 2 am, I signed on the computer and chatted with some ppl for a bit, my mom's friend Deane. She was teasing me, saying she didn't believe I had been doing homework. We played a game of literati (a game on yahoo like scrabble). Wasn't too bad a New Year's. Last year, at midnight, I was in bed, with a cat curled up on me. I had had a couple shots of Jack Daniel's, trying to fall asleep before midnight. It didn't work, but I guess if I couldn't start the year doing something (or someone) fun, like I did New Year's 2000, being curled up with a kitty cat in a comfy bed wasn't too bad a way. This year was pretty good. I need to spend more time on schoolwork this year, so starting the year doing schoolwork wasn't a bad way to start it. Anyway, that's all for now, I have some email to read then I'm going to the grocery store at 2 am. One of my tentative resolutions for the new year is to update my diary more. But my big resolution is to do more schoolwork. Cos I need to be done by Febuary of 2003, and I have at least 5 credits left, really 7 I think. Cos I'm not sure if my signing up for 2 credits worth of electives was accepted or not, because the never billed me for it.

Mood=
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.









Newest Entry
Archive
My Profile
Pictures of Me
E-Mail Me
Txt Msg my cell
People who have me as a Favorite
My Amazon Wishlist

Leave Me A Note:
(You have to be signed into diaryland.)
Join my Notify List and get email when I update my Diary:
your email-
Powered by NotifyList.com

Click here to sign my new (cos the site the old one was on is borked) guestbook!