Entries are in order of most recent at top. So to see older entries for the month you are currently viewing, scroll down.
Previous/Next

October 21, 2004 - 1:26 pm

Geeky update

So, ubuntu hates me. Well, no, X Server hates me. And being that I'm a GUI kinda girl....command line does me fuck all lot of good. So I'm gonna bribe Sean to show me how to config X Server when mom goes up to visit Deane saturday. And I managed to NOT set it up to dual boot windows, tho so far as I can tell, the windows parition is still there and unharmed. I just need to figure out what to add to what file to make it give me the boot to windows option.
In other news tho, Verizon FINALLY got me activated on the 3.0/768 DSL. IT FSCKING ROCKS!!! I'm reveling.
No class this afternoon, but work tonight. And I should have made up that shift I missed on columbus day, but I didn't. So my paycheck will be less, by exactly how much, I'm unsure. Ah well, the world won't end.

Mood=
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession=
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.

October 20, 2004 - 7:25 pm

Decisions

So, I'm Dling a new linux distro called ubuntu, and am going to install it on my laptop. It looks good. There's a screenshot installation walkthrough on a website, and the general 'net consensus is it's an easy and simple install, and runs nicely cos it's a variation of debian (apt get is something to yayfor apparently).
So, I now have 2 80Gb HDDs, 3 160GB, 1 200GB, and 3 250GB. of course, ATM, only 6 are in the computer. I'm trying to decide what to do after I get my new case, which has 83.5 bays and 4 5.25, I could either throw in another ATA PCI card, and have all 9 HDDs in the comp. well, all 8, my bro is gonna get one of the 80s in the comp I'm building him, or I could get an external HDD enclosure or two, and have a huge external drive for my laptop. hmm. I think I'm leaning toward 6 drives in the comp and 2 external. what do you think? cos 6 drives in the comp gives me decent airflow, and means I only need 1 ATA PCI card, cos 6 drives in the comp is 2 in the 5.25 bays, and 4 in the 3.5 bays, with one empty 3.5 bay between each of them. the top one will be next to the floppy, but I never use the floppy, so I don't think that'd be a heat problem

Mood= geeky.
Voices in my head are singing=
Current Obsession= Linux
Click here to comment/read comments. Opens in a new window, and you do NOT have to be a DLand member.









Newest Entry
Archive
My Profile
Pictures of Me
E-Mail Me
Txt Msg my cell
People who have me as a Favorite
My Amazon Wishlist

Leave Me A Note:
(You have to be signed into diaryland.)
Join my Notify List and get email when I update my Diary:
your email-
Powered by NotifyList.com

Click here to sign my new (cos the site the old one was on is borked) guestbook!